Ep. 459: Arecibo Observatory

The iconic Arecibo Radio Observatory has been a mainstay in science and science fiction. This Puerto Rico-based radio telescope was already in an uncertain level of funding. But now with the damage from Hurricane Maria, it might be shut down forever.

We usually record Astronomy Cast every Friday at 12:00 pm PDT / 3:00 pm EDT/ 19:00 PM UTC. You can watch us live on here on AstronomyCast.com, or the AstronomyCast YouTube page.

If you would like to support Astronomy Cast, please visit our page at Patreon here – https://www.patreon.com/astronomycast. We greatly appreciate your support!

If you would like to join the Weekly Space Hangout Crew, visit their site here and sign up. They’re a great team who can help you join our online discussions!

Download the show [MP3] | Jump to Shownotes | Jump to Transcript

Show Notes

Arecibo Observatory
Damage from Hurricane Maria in 2017
More Damage Reports
Arecibo Facebook page
Arecibo Observatory Twitter feed(English)
Observatory Facts
More Observatory Facts
Milestones of Arecibo Observatory

Transcript

Transcription services provided by: GMR Transcription

Transcription here

Download the show [MP3] | Jump to Shownotes | Jump to Transcript

, ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes